Best practices for team member departures

Security is important for every website. When employees leave a project or company for whatever reason, it's a good idea to review their security access to prevent potential future tampering or the loss of important data. Failure to handle departures properly can result in issues such as the following:

  • Incorrect credit card charges
  • Failure to receive Acquia Cloud platform notifications
  • Account and application security breaches

Acquia Cloud security steps

If you are an Acquia Cloud customer, review the following steps that you should take to secure your websites after an employee's departure:

  • Remove the employee from your Acquia Teams
    The subscription administrator should terminate the employee. If the administrator is the departing employee, the departing employee can designate a new organization owner. If this is not possible, contact Acquia Support and cc the previous owner (if possible) for an easier transition. If the previous owner is unavailable, contact your Account Manager for assistance. If you do not have an Account Manager, contact Acquia Support.
  • Remove any entries specific to the employee from your Users and Keys page
    After you sign in to your Acquia Cloud subscription, go to Workflow > Users and Keys to either change the passwords for the private keys or to generate new keys entirely.
  • Remove the employee from any elevated roles on your websites
    Be sure to validate against any single sign-on solutions that you may be using.
  • Remove the employee's entries from the Teams and Permissions pages
    For information about how to do this, see Managing team members: Removing a member from a team.

Drupal security

Be sure to review the following items to secure your website after an employee's departure:

  • Change any administrative passwords to which the employee had access
    Affected passwords can include the website itself, shell accounts, and phpmyadmin.
  • Review the Drupal roles and permissions
    From the employee's account page, you can either change an employee's access to a lower permission level or set it to blocked.
  • Review recent code changes
    Especially in the case of a less-than-amicable parting, it is possible that departing individuals could commit code that allows continued access to the website through a back door.
  • Revoke access to servers and version control systems
  • Review IP whitelists on firewalls and in Apache (or your .htaccess files)
  • Change the salt for your encryption

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support