Working with teams

You can organize the users who work to develop and manage your applications into teams and then assign each team to one or more applications in your organization. When you invite a user to be a member of a team, you assign a role to the member. When you assign a team to an application, all of the users on the team can exercise the permissions of their roles with respect to that application. A user can belong to more than one team; a team can govern access to more than one application, and an application can have more than one team assigned to it. Teams exist within an organization and cannot be assigned to applications within a different organization. Learn more about organizations and roles.

To work with your organization's teams, sign in to the Acquia Cloud interface and go to the Manage page. Note that the functions of the Manage page itself are controlled by the Acquia roles and permissions system, and to take any of these actions, you need to be a user with the appropriate role. By default, an Administrator can create and modify teams; a Team lead or an Administrator can add users to a team or remove users from a team.

On the Teams page, you can:

Viewing teams

  1. Sign in to the Acquia Cloud interface, and then click Manage in the top menu.
  2. In your organization's information card, click Manage.
  3. On the Organizations page, click Team management in the left menu.

The Organizations > Team management page has three information cards in the upper region:

Information cards on the Team management page

  • My information - Lists your user ID and, under Details, the role you have in the organization and, under Membership, the role you have on your teams in the organization
  • Organization administrators - Lists the organization's Owner and Administrators. You can contact these people if you need a team to be created or other actions to be taken that require the Owner or Administrator role.
  • Team administrators - Lists the people who have the ability to modify permissions for your teams. You can contact these people if you need a user to be invited to a team or if you need different roles or permissions for a team you are on.

Under these three information cards is a central menu with three links:

The central menu on the Team management page

  • Members - View all users who are active members of teams in this organization, together with the team name and role. You can invite new members, remove members, and modify roles. You can also view pending team invitations that have not yet been accepted. For details, see Managing team members.
  • Teams - View all the teams in this organization, together with the applications assigned to each team, and its members. You can create a team, rename or remove a team, or assign applications to a team.
  • Applications - Lists all of the applications in the organization, together with the teams assigned to each application. This is basically an alternate view of the Teams page, organized by application rather than by team. You can assign a team to an application.

Creating, renaming, or removing a team

The Owner or Administrator for an organization can create a new team, or rename or remove an existing team.

Creating a team

To create a new team, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to the Acquia Cloud interface, and then click Manage in the top menu.
  2. In your organization's information card, click Manage.
  3. On the Organizations page, click Team management in the left menu, and then click Teams in the central menu.

    Create a team

  4. Click Create team.
  5. In the Team name field, enter a descriptive name for the team, and then click Add.

After you create a team, assign applications to the team and invite members to the team, giving each member the role that is appropriate for the applications that the team will be working on.

Renaming a team

To rename a team, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Teams page, click the team's Rename link.
  2. Enter the new name for the team, and then click Rename.

Removing a team

To remove (delete) a team from an organization, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Teams page, click the team's Remove link.
  2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Remove.

The team is deleted. The team members lose access to any applications to which they had access by virtue of being members of this team, but their Acquia accounts are otherwise unaffected. They could still have access to some or all of the same applications by being members of other teams.

Adding an application to a team

Before members of a team are able to use their roles to work on an application, you must assign the application to the team. You can do this either on the Team management > Teams page, or on the Teams > Applications page. To assign applications to a team on the Teams > Teams page:

  1. Sign in to the Acquia Cloud interface, and then click Manage in the top menu.
  2. In your organization's information card, click Manage.
  3. On the Organizations page, click Team management in the left menu, and then click Teams in the central menu.
  4. On the Teams page, click the team's Assign apps link.

    Click the team's Assign apps link

  5. The Assign applications dialog displays all of the applications in the organization. You can enter text in the Filter Applications field to filter applications by name. Select any applications you want to assign to the team, and clear the checkbox for any applications you want to remove from the team. Then, click Continue.

    Assign applications to a team

  6. In the confirmation dialog, review the applications that will be assigned to the team, and then click Assign applications.

Each member of the team can now access the applications assigned to the team, with their already assigned team roles.

Reviewing team and application assignments

On the Team management > Applications page, you can view all of the applications in the organization, together with the teams assigned to each application. If you have many applications, you can use the Filter by application field to limit which applications are displayed. You can also assign teams to an application.

To assign a team to an application from the Team management > Applications page:

  1. Click the application's Assign teams link.
  2. Select the teams you want to assign to this application, and then click Continue.
  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click Assign teams.

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support