Establishing trusted contacts between users

Drupal Commons allows you and your users to establish trusted connections between accounts, which can be used to send private messages through your website, without having either to expose email addresses or leave the website.

Requirements

To allow users to establish trusted contacts, you must enable the Commons Trusted Contacts feature. To do this, complete the following steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Structure, and then click the Features link.
  2. Click the Commons - Building blocks vertical tab.
  3. Ensure that the Commons Trusted Contacts check box is selected.
  4. If you had to enable the check box, click Save settings.

If you want your users to privately share content, you must enable the Organic groups access control module. To do this:

  1. Go to Menu > Modules.
  2. Ensure that the Organic groups access control check box is selected.
  3. If you had to enable the check box, click Save configuration.

Creating trusted contacts

To establish a trusted connection between your account and another user's account, find the user's account card on the People directory, and then click Add as trusted contact.

Each connection request has to be approved. If you have unapproved connection requests, Drupal Commons displays a notification icon next to your account name at the top of the page, along with the number of unapproved requests.

To approve requests from other users who want to be one of your trusted contacts:

  1. Click the Settings link above the search bar in the default theme.
  2. Click the Private Messages & Invitations tab.
  3. If you have any connection requests, they'll be indicated on the Invitations tab. Click the Invitations tab to view the requests.
  4. Select and then either Approve or Ignore each of the requests. You can select multiple invitations and approve or ignore them at the same time.

After a user accepts your trusted connection, the user's account card on the People directory includes a Message button.

Sending messages

You can send messages to your trusted contacts from either the People directory or from your list of trusted contacts in your user profile.

People directory

To send a message from the People directory:

  1. Find the user account card of the user with which you have a trusted connection.
  2. Click Message.
  3. Enter and send the private message to the user account.

User profile

To send a message from your user profile:

  1. Click the Settings link above the search bar in the default theme.
  2. Click the Private Messages & Invitations tab.
  3. Click the Trusted Contacts tab.
  4. Find the user account to which you want to send a message, and click its Send private message link.
  5. Enter and send the private message to the user account.

Viewing sent messages

Whenever you have a message from one of your trusted contacts, Drupal Commons displays a status icon next to your account name at the top of the page, including the number of unread messages.

Click the status icon to view a list of your unread messages.

Removing trusted contacts

To break the trusted connection between your account and another user's account:

  1. Click the Settings link above the search bar in the default theme.
  2. Click the Private Messages & Invitations tab.
  3. Click the Trusted Contacts tab.
  4. Select the check box for the user account for which you want to break the relationship.
  5. Click Break Contact.

The user account is no longer a trusted contact of your account.

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support