Discovering content

After you install and configure Content Hub for your websites and content sharing is enabled, you can use Content Hub to discover content to add to your website.

To discover your websites' shared content, in your website's admin menu go to Content > Acquia Content Hub (/admin/content/acquia-contenthub or http://[site_URL]/admin/content/content-hub).

Hub filter page

Filtering content

By default, the Acquia Content Hub tab displays all of the content entities that all members of your content network have uploaded in Content Hub, in chronological order from newest to oldest. You can use filters to limit which items are displayed, helping you discover the items in which you are most interested. You can create filters based on a combination of keywords, date, source, and tags.

To create a filter, set one or more filter criteria. You can choose from any or all of these facets:

  • Keyword - Content Hub searches with this string against each field in each shared entity.
  • Date - You can filter by only a start date (content created on or after that date), only an end date (content created on or before that date), or both.
  • Source - One or more members of your content network. Only content from those sources will be included in the filter.
  • Tags - Filter by one or more tags on your content.

Content Hub displays all of the available content entities that match the filter facets.

The following video details the Content Hub search and filter functionality:

You may also sort the available content by selecting an option from the Sort by: menu:

  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Relevance

Saving filters and publish settings

Click Save Filter to save a filter to use later. When you save a filter, you can enter a name to help you identify it. You can select a saved filter in the left panel.

When you use a saved filter, you can configure its publish settings. Select one of the following:

  • None - No entities are automatically imported or published. To publish an entity, you can visit the filter page from time to time when you need content and pick individual entities to publish.
  • Auto Import - Every entity that matches the filter is automatically imported to your website, but left in unpublished state. You can review each entity and decide whether to publish it or not.
  • Auto Publish - Every entity that matches the filter is automatically imported to your website and immediately published.

Managing your saved filters

After you save a filter, you can update it or delete it at a later time. To update or delete a filter, see Managing filters.

Importing content

Each content item displayed on the Content > Content Hub tab can be imported to your website. Select the content items you want, then click Import. Items that you have already imported are displayed in the filter list and marked as Imported to site.

If there is no content to be imported, the website will display a No content is available for import. message.

If there is more than one page of available content, a pager will display at the bottom of the page.

Imported items will sometimes bring all dependent items with them during the import process. This includes images and files. If items are not imported, they will include a reference to the original.

When using the Workbench Moderation module, some content may not be available for import. If your content type is defined using Workbench Moderation, and defaults to the Draft state, you may not always see all the content you expect. If you are importing content onto a website using WBM, and that website uses the Draft state by default, you will then need to process the imported content.

Updating content

Content Hub can help you keep content synchronized, so that if a content entity is updated by its original publisher, you can ensure that the updated version is available on all of the other websites that may have imported it.

Automatic updates property

When Content Hub imports a content entity, the entity includes a Enable Automatic Updates setting. By default, this setting's check box is selected, which means that updates to the content by the original publisher are pushed to the consuming website.

Enable automatic updates property setting

If you disable automatic updates for a content entity, Content Hub will not push updates to your website from the original publisher.

Exactly how content updating works depends on several settings in addition to the automatic updates property:

  • Does the content type have revisions enabled?
  • Is the content entity marked as published on the consuming website?
Revisions? Published? When content is updated by the publisher...
No Yes The content is immediately updated on the consuming website.
No No The content is immediately updated on the consuming website and remains not published.
Yes Yes The updated content is immediately published as a new revision on the consuming website and the previous version is saved as an old revision.
Yes No The updated content is a new unpublished revision on the consuming website and the previous version is saved as an old revision.

Re-enabling updates

If you disable automatic updates for an entity, the entity will stop receiving changes from the upstream content. Automatic updates can be re-enabled at any time. If the Diff module is enabled on your website, when automatic updates are re-enabled you have the option to both review and potentially discard the upstream changes before saving the automatic updates.

Deleting content

If a content entity is deleted by the publishing website, by default, that action has no effect on the entity on the consuming website. Only changes to the existing text (and not the removal of the entity) will result in updates to the consuming website. Although the originating website sends a webhook to inform subscribers that the content was removed, the content will remain on the subscriber websites unless you implement a custom module to delete the content (as described in Deleting content from subscribing sites).

After you have imported a content entity to your website, it has the same status as any other content entity of the same entity type on your website — you can modify it, publish or unpublish it, or delete it. Any actions that you take on the content entity have no effect on the item on the source website, or on any other member of your content network that may have already imported the content entity or might import it in the future. If no local changes have been made to an imported entity on a subscribing website, the imported entity will be updated if the original publisher website pushes a new version of the content. However, if local changes have been made to the imported entity, a content update made on the original publisher website will not update the imported entity unless the Enable Automatic Updates check box has been selected.

Developers can write applications to watch for delete requests. These webhook notifications are tracked in the watchdog log. For example:

Webhook landing: @"uuid":"47c937d3-1504-46e6-6b68-a654620a279c","status":"successful","crud":"delete","assets":[{"uuid":"23377268-4bb6-49db-97ff-bb024b82cde8","type":"node"],"endpoint":"http://mytestsite.acquia.com/acquia-contenthub/webhook","initiator":"163ef3342-d2c2-49d9-5716-d25fc02ec7ac",...

Retries

If a publisher or subscriber website is down during synchronization, Content Hub will retry over time to complete the process. It uses a backoff strategy similar to what is described by Amazon.

Content Hub will continue to retry sending content at the following predefined intervals:

  • Initial attempt (0:00)
  • One minute after the initial attempt (0:01)
  • 15 minutes after the previous attempt (0:16)
  • One hour after the previous attempt (1:16)
  • Four hours after the previous attempt (5:16)
  • 12 hours after the previous attempt (17:16)

If the webhook cannot be successfully delivered (a HTTP 200 response from Drupal), Content Hubwill unregister the webhook of your website after 48 hours.

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support