Remote Administration preferences

Remote Administration (RA) follows a specific workflow implemented by automation that takes into account subscription-specific preferences. If you are a Remote Administration customer, setting your application update preferences correctly ensures that security updates can be smoothly integrated into your workflow.

Reviewing your RA settings

To review your RA application update preferences, completing the following steps:

  1. Sign in to the Acquia Cloud interface.
  2. Select the application whose Remote Administration settings you want to view.
  3. In the left menu, click RA.

Acquia Cloud displays the RA update settings in place for your application.

Modifying your RA settings

Remote Administration customers have several available update methods, and whichever method is selected influences subsequent options.

To modify your RA settings (such as changing your update settings or removing RA from your application), complete the following steps:

  1. Go to the Remote Administration settings page for your application.
  2. In the upper right of the page, click the Edit icon.
  3. In the Update process list, click the update method you want to use with your application, from the following list:
    • Update and Deploy (default) - When a security update is required, Acquia pulls a branch according to your preferences, applies security updates, and pushes the branch to the repository.
      The new branch is then deployed to your RA environment for testing. Acquia lets you know using a ticket that the secure branch is available for testing. Code will not be deployed to the Production environment without your explicit approval.
    • Inform only - Acquia informs you of pending updates using a security update notification. No further action is taken without your specific request.
    • Do not inform - Acquia does not inform you of any pending updates. No further action is taken without your specific request.
  4. Depending on your selection in the Update process list, Acquia Cloud may display additional fields regarding the implementation details for your selected method.
    Update method Displayed field Description Default value
    Update and Deploy Pause until Enter a date and time to pause Remote Administration until that time. After that time, RA will resume its normal schedule. not paused
    Update type Select from Core and Core and contributed modules to determine the portions of your application that you want to update.
    If you have features that are dependent on certain versions of contributed or custom modules, you can implement a locking functionality to prevent those specific modules from being updated, and then use the Core and contributed modules update method.
    Core and contributed modules
    Secondary testing environment Acquia deploys the initial security update branch to the RA environment. After you approving the branch for tagging and final testing, you can have Acquia place this tag on any environment (other than production) for final testing. A fresh copy of the production database will be copied into this environment as a part of this final, preproduction test. Stage
    Copy files from production to testing environment Acquia strongly recommends that you click Yes to ensure accurate and up-to-date tests. Yes
    Copy prod database to testing environment Acquia strongly recommends that you click Yes to ensure accurate and up-to-date tests.
    For information about creating scrub scripts to remove sensitive data and functionality from your testing environment, see the Databases section of the Remote Administration environment page.
    Yes
    Merge update tag into development branch Determines whether or not to merge the tested security update tag into your preferred branch.
    If you click No for this field, your team must ensure that the updates are merged into your code on the main branch before your code goes into production. Failure to complete this merge could result in a schema mismatch between the recently updated production data and the code that has not incorporated the updated code.
    Yes
    Merge development branch Acquia typically merges updates into master (Git). If you use a different workflow, enter the exact name of the branch into which the security updates should be merged. Master
    Inform only Pause until Enter a date and time to pause Remote Administration until that time. After that time, RA will resume its normal schedule. not paused
    Do not inform Does not display any additional preference fields
  5. Click Save.

Remote Administration will now use your selected update settings for your application.

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support