---
title: "Managing teams and users"
date: "2025-07-16T10:42:48+00:00"
summary: "Efficiently manage teams and user roles across multiple sites with the Sites Dashboard. Create teams, assign roles, and control access."
image:
type: "page"
url: "/source-cms/managing-teams-and-users"
id: "bd377000-198c-49c8-9ca2-4ae7dbfcfebc"
---

The Sites Dashboard provides options to manage teams and select user roles across multiple sites. Those options enable you to efficiently manage access for large organizations with multiple sites and teams. For example, you can:

*   Create teams that represent functional groups in your organization
*   Add users to teams with Member roles
*   Assign teams to one or more sites

Note

Users who are new to Acquia must create an account before logging in for the first time. They must then be invited to a Source CMS subscription. Acquia Cloud Platform users can use their existing credentials to log in to Source CMS after they receive the Getting Started email.

Roles
-----

The Sites Dashboard manages access at the platform level and works alongside each site’s own role management:

*   **Sites Dashboard**: Operates at the platform level to control broad access across multiple sites.
*   **Site CMS:** Operates at the site level to control detailed permissions in an individual site.

Admin and Member roles from the Sites Dashboard sync with each site, but sites can also define custom roles for more granular permission control.

### Platform-level roles

The following roles are available at the Sites Dashboard level:

*   **Admin**: Users with this role have administrator access to all sites within an organization.
*   **Member**: Users with this role have basic access to all sites assigned to their teams. They can also be granted roles within each site.

A user with the Admin role in the Sites Dashboard automatically has the Admin role in all sites in the organization. A user with the Member role also has the Member role in any sites their teams can access. The specific permissions for the Member role are defined separately for each site.

Teams
-----

Teams are groups of users that share similar responsibilities or work on the same projects. For example, Marketing, Content, Development, and Executive teams. Each team can be assigned to one or more sites with consistent roles, streamlining the user management process.

### Creating a team

To create a team and assign them to specific sites:

1.  Log in to Source CMS to open the Sites Dashboard.
    
2.  Click the **Users** tab.
3.  Click **Teams**, and then click **Create Team**.
4.  Enter a team name, and then click **Create Team**.

### Adding users to a team

To invite users to an existing team:

1.  Log in to Source CMS to open the Sites Dashboard.
    
2.  Click the **Users** tab.
3.  Click **Teams**.
4.  Click the team to which you want to invite the user.
5.  Click **Invite Members**.
6.  Enter the email address of the member whom you want to invite to the team.
7.  Click **Invite**.
    
    Source CMS sends an email invitation to users to join the team. New users display a status of ****Pending**** in the ****Status**** column on the Teams Members list page until they accept the invitation. The status displays as ****Active**** after the user accepts the invitation.
    

### Assigning teams to sites

To give a team access to a site:

1.  Log in to Source CMS to open the Sites Dashboard.
    
2.  Click the **Users** tab.
3.  Click **Teams**.
4.  Locate the site that you want to assign to the team.
5.  On the site card, click the kebab icon.
6.  Select **Assign Site**.
    
    The system displays the Assign Sites dialog box.
    
7.  Select the checkbox for the target site. To grant access to all available sites, select the ****Select all**** checkbox.
    
8.  Select ****Assign****.
    

### Removing team access

To revoke a team's access to a site:

1.  Log in to Source CMS to open the Sites Dashboard.
    
2.  Click the **Users** tab.
3.  Click **Teams**.
4.  Click the team that you want to edit.
5.  Click the **Assigned Sites** tab.
6.  Locate the target site to remove team access.
7.  Click **Remove**.
8.  On the Remove Site dialog box, click **Remove** to confirm.

### Removing users from a team

To remove a member from a team:

1.  Log in to Source CMS to open the Sites Dashboard.
    
2.  Click the **Users** tab.
3.  Click **Teams**.
4.  Click the team that you want to edit.
5.  In the **Actions** column, click **Remove Member**.
6.  On the Remove Member dialog box, click **Remove** to confirm the removal.