Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

About Acquia Cloud permissions

A permission grants a user the ability to perform specific operations in an Acquia Cloud organization or application. Permissions are grouped into roles. Roles are then assigned to team members. All the team members who have the same roles have the same permissions.

Acquia defines over 40 separate, grouped permissions, listed in the following Permissions list table. You can also view all the available permissions by opening the Roles page for an organization and viewing a role, as described in Working with roles and permissions.

Many permissions enable you to distinguish between team members who can work on an application’s production environment and team members who can only work on the non-production (Dev and Stage) environments. For example, the Senior developer role includes the permissions to pull and deploy code in production and non-production environments, while the Developer role grants permission to pull and deploy code only in non-production environments.

Note for Acquia Cloud Free users

Since Acquia Cloud Free applications do not have production environments, those permissions do not apply to those applications.

Permissions in Acquia Cloud do not control actions users take on your Drupal website, such as:

  • Creating content
  • Enabling and configuring Drupal modules
  • Adding or removing Drupal users

Use the Drupal permissions administration to control access to Drupal functions.

Notes for Acquia Cloud Site Factory subscribers

  • Acquia Cloud Site Factory customers must use the Acquia Cloud Site Factory domains functionality to add additional domains to their subscriptions. Domains added using the Acquia Cloud user interface will not work, and may be deleted by automated processes.
  • For more information about Acquia Cloud permissions as part of an Acquia Cloud Site Factory subscription, see Configuring your Acquia Cloud teams and permissions.

Permissions list

Category Permission Acquia Cloud Enterprise Acquia Cloud Professional Acquia Cloud Free
Administration

Access the Cloud API

(Required for Acquia Cloud API v1 and Dev Desktop users. Not applicable to Acquia Cloud API v2.)

yes yes yes
  Activate an Acquia subscription add-on yes yes yes
  Add or remove a user of a team
This includes the ability to assign a user’s role, allowing a user with this permission give themselves any role, including Team Lead.
yes yes yes
  Edit Remote administration yes yes no
  View Remote administration yes yes no
Cron Modify cron tasks for non-production environments yes yes yes
  Modify cron tasks for the production environment yes yes no
Databases Add a database yes yes yes
  Create database backups for non-production environments yes yes yes
  Create database backups for the production environment yes yes no
  Download database backups for non-production environments yes yes yes
  Download database backups for the production environment yes yes no
  Remove a database yes yes yes
  Restore database backups for non-production environments yes yes yes
  Restore database backups for the production environment yes yes no
  View database connection details (username, password, or hostname) yes yes yes
Domains Add or remove SSL certificates for the non-production environments yes yes no
  Add or remove SSL certificates for the production environments yes yes no
  Add or remove domains for non-production environments yes yes no
  Add or remove domains for the production environment yes yes no
Insight Block Insight sites
Users with this permission can prevent applications from submitting data to Acquia Insight.
yes yes yes
  Manage Insight alerts
Users with this permission can set Insight alerts to Ignore.
yes yes yes
  Revoke Insight environment yes yes yes
Logs Download logs for non-production environments yes yes yes
  Download logs for the production environment yes yes no
Pipelines Execute pipelines yes yes no
SSH keys Add SSH key to git repository yes yes yes
  Add SSH key to non-production environments yes yes yes
  Add SSH key to the production environment yes yes no
  Manage SSH keys yes yes no
Search Edit the search schema on a subscription yes yes no
  Increase the search index limit on a subscription yes yes no
Server administration Configure server no yes no
  Reboot server no yes no
  Resize server no yes no
  Suspend server no yes no
Support Create a support ticket yes yes no
  Include as a collaborator on all tickets by default
(Permission is assignable to no more than 20 users. Administrators have priority for inclusion.)
yes yes no
  View and edit any support tickets for a subscription yes yes no
Workflow Add an environment yes no no
  Clear Varnish® cache for non-production environments yes yes yes
  Clear Varnish cache for the production environment yes yes no
  Configure non-production environments yes yes no
  Configure production environment yes yes no
  Delete an environment yes no no
  Deploy code, files, or databases to the production environment yes yes no
  Manage environment variables on a non-production environment yes no no
  Manage environment variables on a non-production environment yes no no
  Move files from non-production environments yes yes yes
  Move files from production environments yes yes no
  Move files to non-production environments yes yes yes
  Move files to the production environment yes yes no
  Pull and deploy code, files, or databases to non-production environments
Also grants the ability to enable or disable live development.
yes yes yes
  Pull files or databases from the production environment yes yes no
  View environment variables on a non-production environment yes no no
  View environment variables on a non-production environment yes no no