Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Working with files

Acquia Cloud keeps your application’s files separate from your codebase and databases. These files consist of the content that you upload (for example, PDF files).

The Files section of the Environments > Overview page is a user interface that allows you to copy your application’s files between your application’s environments. After you first create or import an application, the Prod environment is in Pre-launch mode. You can copy files freely between your Dev, Stage, and Prod environments while your application is in the Pre-launch mode.

After you switch to Production mode, you can’t copy files (or databases) to your Production environment. The typical workflow is from right to left, where you can copy files from your Production environment to either Staging or Development. To learn more, see Using Production mode.

If you change the mode to Pre-launch mode, Acquia Cloud allows you to copy files between environments without destroying your files. For example, if you drag your Staging environment to Production, Acquia Cloud will overwrite the files that are present in both your Staging and Production environments, and then preserve the files that are present only in Production. Acquia Cloud writes any new files, overwrites any pre-existing files, and ignores any files that are already in place. This prevents an accidental deletion of files.

Note

Files in your application’s file storage are not executable by Acquia Cloud PHP processes.

Copying files between environments

You can copy files from one environment to another environment in the Acquia Cloud interface, using either the Application > Environments page or the Application > [Environment] > Overview page for a particular environment.

To copy files from one environment to another environment using the Application > Environments page, complete the following steps:

  1. Drag a Files node from the source environment to the target environment.
  2. In the confirmation dialog, click Copy.

To copy files from one environment to another environment using the Application > [Environment] > Overview page for a particular environment, complete the following steps:

  1. Under Files, click Copy.

  2. In the Copy files dialog, select the target environment that you want to copy files to, and then click Continue.

    Copy files to a different environment

  3. In the confirmation dialog, click Copy.

Acquia Cloud copies the files between the environments and then updates the web servers with your changes. You can track the status of the file copying process in the Activity panel.

For information about how to copy some, but not all files from one environment to another, see Copying files to a different environment.

Backing up your files

For information about how to back up your files, see File backups. Acquia Cloud does not support the Backup and Migrate module.