Using Production mode to protect your live application

When you first create an application, the Production environment is in Pre-launch mode. When you are ready to publish the application, you should change it to Production mode. In Pre-launch mode, you can freely drag your files or database to the Production environment. In Production mode, you cannot copy your files or database to the Production environment. This protects you from possibly destroying your live application by overwriting your Production files and databases.

Generally, you copy databases and files up to the Production environment only until you first launch your application. After that, you push code to Production, but you pull databases and files backwards from Production to the Staging and Development environments for testing and development.

Enabling Production mode

To change your Production environment's mode, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to the Acquia Cloud interface, and then select your application.
  2. Select the Production environment, and then click the Production mode icon.
    Select production mode
    A dialog box will appear.
  3. Click Enable to enable production mode.

After you enable production mode, the Production mode icon becomes a closed lock.

Disabling Production mode

To disable production mode, complete the same procedure listed previously, but click Disable in the final step.

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support