Content Hub

Automatic syndication with filters

Note

This page applies to Content Hub 3.x.

After a publisher site exports the content to Content Hub, the content is available to subscriber sites for syndication. Automatic syndication allows predefined filters to direct the content to one or more subscriber sites. Filters use a variety of facets, such as taxonomy terms, entity types, content types or bundles, and source or publisher.

After a subscriber site imports an entity and its dependencies, the entity remains in the subscriber’s interest list. Consequently, any subsequent updates made to the entity by the publisher are automatically syndicated to the subscriber.

Manual syndication is always available in addition to the filters that you define.

Creating a filter

Note

Ensure that the acquia_contenthub_dashboard module is enabled. Either publishers or subscribers can enable this module. Subscribers can only assign filters to themselves. However, publishers can assign filters to any subscriber.

To create a filter, you must first search and filter the content, and then save the filter.

Searching the content

To search the content:

  1. Navigate to the Publisher’s Dashboard interface.
  2. Click Content.

    The Content page displays all the content that the publisher has exported to Content Hub. The page also provides options to filter and search the content.

By default, the content is displayed in List View. However, you can switch to Card View by clicking the Card View icon in the top-right of the page.

Filtering the content

To create a filter, use the following methods individually or in combination:

  • Inline filter popups

    To filter the content based on the facet of the filter:

    1. Click the filter icon at the top of each table column:
      • Type: The Drupal entity type such as nodefile, and taxonomy_term.
      • Bundle: The entity bundle or content type such as article, and blog.
      • Origin: The publisher site of the content.
      • Last updated: The timestamp when the entity was last updated on the publisher.
  • Keyword search

    To filter the content based on a specific keyword:

    1. Click the Search field.
    2. Type the keyword specific to the content that you want to search, and press Enter.

      The system displays the word as a tile at the top of the filter results.

  • Tag-based search

    To filter the content based on taxonomy terms

    1. Click the Filter icon next to the Search field.

      The system displays a field-set labeled Filter with a + icon, Apply button, and the Clear Filters button.

    2. Click the + icon, and select OR from the list menu.
    3. In Select variable, select Tags.
    4. In Select operator, select equals.
    5. In Search for tags, enter the desired tag.
    6. Press Enter.

      The system displays your desired tag that you can select.

    7. Click Apply to save the changes.
    8. To select more than one tag, repeat the same process by clicking the + icon.

Saving the filter

After you select your desired facets and review the results, you can save the filter.

  1. Click the Save icon, and then click Save As New Filter.

    The system displays the Save Filter As dialog box.

  2. In Name, type a name for the new filter.

  3. To use this filter for sending the content to one or more subscriber sites:
    1. Select the Enable Automatic Syndication checkbox.
    2. In Assign to Site(s), type the name of the subscriber site that you want to assign to this filter.

      You can repeat this multiple times if needed.

  4. Click Save Filter.

Automatic syndication of the existing content

When the publisher exports new entities, Content Hub examines the existing filters to check if the new entities match. If the filters match, the content is syndicated to subscriber sites assigned to the filters.

Important

Filters only examine the content at the time it arrives from the publisher.

To syndicate the existing content through new or modified filters:

  • Use manual syndication to import the content into subscribers.
  • Click the Enqueue from filters button on a subscriber site.

(Optional) Enqueueing from filters

To enqueue the entities for import based on your filters:

  1. Log in to one of the subscriber sites.
  2. Navigate to Administration > Configuration > Web services > Acquia Content Hub Settings.
  3. Click the Import tab.
  4. Expand the Enqueue from filters field-set.
  5. Click the Enqueue from filters button to start a batch process.
  6. Repeat this process for all the subscriber sites where you must import the required content.

Modifying a filter

Important
  • Changing a filter does not affect the content imported into a subscriber.
  • The content imported to a subscriber by a filter remains on the subscriber's interest list.

You can modify a filter to add or remove search facets, or modify subscriber site assignments.

  1. Load the existing filter:
    1. On the Content page, click Saved Filters.

    2. From the list of filters, select the filter that you want to apply to the Content view.
  2. Add or remove search facets.

    To make changes to the search facets used by the filter, follow the steps in Creating a filter.

  3. Click the Save icon to save changes.

  4. (Optional) Add or remove site assignments.

    To make changes to the assigned subscriber sites for this filter:

    1. Click Edit Site Assignment.
    2. In the Edit filter dialog box, in Assign to Site(s), add or remove the site assignments.
    3. Click Update Filter.

      The system not only updates the site assignment but also savea all the changes to the loaded filter.

Deleting a filter

Important
  • Deleting a filter does not impact existing content or items on a subscriber’s interest list.
  • The content previously imported to a subscriber by a filter remains on the subscriber's interest list even after the filter is deleted.

To delete a filter:

  1. On the Content page, select Manage Filters in the Saved Filters list.
  2. In the Manage Filters dialog box, search your desired filter.
  3. Click the Kebab icon and select Delete Filter.

  4. In the confirmation dialog box, click Delete.