Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Onboarding: Users and Roles

If your organization has multiple people with different responsibilities for marketing, set up Users and Roles in Campaign Studio. These help you to enable or restrict permissions for each person or persona.

Users

Users and Roles - Users

You can set up new users in Campaign Studio manually or through the API.

To set up a user manually:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users.
  2. Click +New in the top right corner.
  3. Fill in the appropriate fields for your user:
    • First name and Last name: Your user’s first and last name.
    • Role is assigned based on permissions you’ve granted.
    • Position (optional): Your user’s job title.
    • Signature is only necessary if you’re using the Mailer is owner feature in Campaign Studio. If you are using Mailer is Owner, you can add a signature for each user and populate that signature in any emails you’re sending with the {signature} token.
    • Username, EmailPassword are the login credentials. If a user forgets their password, they can use the Forgot password link, but you can manually change their password here.
    • Time zone: Set the user’s time zone, or use the default. Adding the user’s time zone enables them to account for time zone differences for email scheduling and other features.
    • Language: Select a language for each user, to improve their experience in Campaign Studio.

Inform your user their account has been created. Campaign Studio doesn’t send an email to inform them of their login information. You must inform them manually.

Roles

When team members have different responsibilities, you may not want some team members working in certain parts of Campaign Studio. Use Roles to control access permissions. By default, Campaign Studio creates new users with the Administrator role with full system access. You can change that when manually creating a user, or select a different role when importing a user by API.

To create a new role:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Roles.

  2. Click +New in the top right corner.

  3. In the Details tab, add a Title and Description.

  4. Click the Permissions tab. The list of user permissions displays.

    Users and Roles - Roles

  5. Most permission categories have options for View, Edit, Create, Delete, and Publish. Select check boxes for the appropriate permissions for this role. To select every check box and grant the user all permissions, select the Full option.

Note

If permissions are restricted, a user will also be limited to seeing dashboard widgets for the items or feature bundles the user has permissions for. For example, if a user’s role doesn’t have asset permissions, they can’t create widgets on the dashboard for asset data.

You can also create roles using the API.