Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Working with teams

You can organize the users who work to develop and manage your applications into teams and then assign each team to one or more applications in your organization. When you invite a user to be a member of a team, you assign a role to the member. When you assign a team to an application, the users on the team can exercise the permissions of their roles for that application. Users can belong to more than one team. A team can govern access to more than one application, and an application can have more than one team assigned to it. Teams exist within an organization and can’t be assigned to applications within a different organization.

To work with your organization’s teams, sign in to the Cloud Platform user interface and go to the Manage page.

Roles for team management

Acquia’s roles and permissions system controls the Manage page. To take any of these actions, your user account must be assigned the appropriate role. By default, an Administrator can create and change teams, and a Team lead or an Administrator can add users to a team or remove users from a team.

On the Teams page, the following actions are available:

Viewing teams

  1. Sign in to Cloud Platform, and then click Manage in the top menu.
  2. In your organization’s information card, click Manage.
  3. On the Organizations page, click Team Management in the left menu.

The Organizations > Team Management page has three information cards in the upper region:

Information cards on the Team Management page

  • My Information: Displays your user ID. Under Details, lists the role you have in the organization, and under Membership, the role you have on your teams in the organization.
  • Administrators: Displays the organization’s Owner and Administrators. Contact these people to create a team, or need other actions taken requiring the Owner or Administrator role.
  • Team Administrators: Displays the users who can change permissions for your teams. Contact these people to invite a user to a team, or if you need different roles or permissions for a team you are on.

Under the three information cards, you’ll see is a central menu with the following three tabs:

  • Members: Displays all users who are active members of teams in this organization, together with the team name and role. The Members tab also displays the user name and email address of all team members. You can invite new members, remove members, and change roles. You can also view pending team invitations that haven’t been accepted yet. For more details, see Managing team members.
  • Teams: Displays all the teams in this organization, together with the applications assigned to each team, and its members. The Teams tab also displays the user name and email address of all team members. You can create a team, rename or remove a team, or assign applications to a team.
  • Applications: Displays all applications in the organization, together with the teams assigned to each application. This view is an alternate view of the Teams page, organized by application rather than by team. You can assign a team to an application.

Creating, renaming, or removing a team

The Owner or Administrator for an organization can create a new team, or rename or remove an existing team.

Creating a team

To create a new team, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to Cloud Platform, and then click Manage in the top menu.
  2. In your organization’s information card, click Manage.
  3. On the Organizations page, click Team management in the left menu, and then click Teams in the central menu.
  4. Click Create team.
  5. In the Team name field, enter a descriptive name for the team, and then click Add.

After you create a team, assign applications to the team and invite members to the team. Give each member the role appropriate for the applications the team will be working on.

Renaming a team

To rename a team, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Teams page, click the team’s Rename link.
  2. Enter the new name for the team, and then click Rename.

Removing a team

To remove (delete) a team from an organization, complete the following steps:

  1. On the Teams page, click the team’s Remove link.
  2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Remove.

Cloud Platform deletes the team.

The team members lose access to any applications they had access to through their team membership, but their Acquia accounts are otherwise unaffected. These users may still have access to those applications, if they remain members of teams that also still have access to those applications.

Adding an application to a team

Before members of a team can use their roles to work on an application, you must assign the application to the team. You can assign applications either on the Team management > Teams page, or on the Teams > Applications page. To assign applications to a team on the Teams > Teams page, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to Cloud Platform, and then click Manage in the top menu.

  2. In your organization’s information card, click Manage.

  3. On the Organizations page, click Team management in the left menu, and then click Teams in the central menu.

  4. On the Teams page, click the team’s Assign apps link.

    Assign apps link

  5. The Assign applications dialog displays all the applications in the organization. You can enter text in the Filter Applications field to filter applications by name. Select any applications you want to assign to the team, and clear the check box for any applications you want to remove from the team. Then, click Continue.

    Assign applications to a team

  6. In the confirmation dialog, review the applications to be assigned to the team, and then click Assign applications.

Each member of the team can now access the applications assigned to the team, with their assigned team roles.

Reviewing team and application assignments

On the Team management > Applications page, you can view all the

applications in the organization, together with the teams assigned to each application. If you have many applications, you can use the Filter by application field to limit which applications display. You can also assign teams to an application.

To assign a team to an application from the Team management > Applications page:

  1. Click the application’s Assign teams link.
  2. Select the teams you want to assign to this application, and then click Continue.
  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click Assign teams.