Backing up your site

Your Acquia Cloud website has three principal parts: code, database, and files. Although each of these parts has a separate backup strategy, you can also back up your whole site:

Database backups

Daily backups from the last three days are always available to you. You can make additional backups at any time, for example, for critical stages of development.

  • Automatic backups

    Acquia makes daily backups of all databases in all environments and keeps them for three days. These backups are listed as Daily in the Acquia Cloud UI.

  • On-demand backups

    You can make on-demand backups of any database at any time either on the Cloud > Workflow page of your Acquia Cloud account or on the Cloud > Databases page. These backups are listed as User backups in the Acquia Cloud UI. Acquia Cloud keeps your on-demand backups until you delete them. Your backup copies count against the storage space of your account.

Acquia Cloud takes internal disaster recovery snapshots of all data every hour and retains them on a diminishing schedule for three months:

  • The most recent three backups are generally one, two, and three hours old.
  • One backup per day, taken as soon after midnight as possible, is kept for seven days.
  • One backup per week, taken as soon after midnight Sunday as possible, is kept for four weeks.
  • One backup per month, taken as soon after the first of the month as possible, is kept for three months.

In the very unlikely event of a total data center loss or the loss of multiple disk systems, Acquia Cloud uses these backups to restore your sites to another location. Acquia Cloud does not provide customer access to these backups and will not use these snapshots to restore sites due to data loss or deletion by customers.

Creating a manual database backup

You can make on-demand backups of any database at any time on the Cloud > Workflow page of your Acquia Cloud account or on the Cloud > Databases page.

Making a database backup on the Workflow page

  1. Sign in to Acquia, select your site, and then open the Workflow page at Cloud > Workflow.

    Creating a backup on the Workflow page

  2. Open the menu for the environment that contains the database you want to back up, and then select Back up databases.

    Acquia Cloud displays a listing of the databases in the environment.

    Databases for backup

  3. Select the databases you want to back up, and then click Backup. Select All to back up all databases in this environment.

Making a database backup on the Databases page

  1. Sign in to Acquia, select your site, and then open the Databases page at Cloud > Databases.

  2. Find the database and environment you want to back up and click Backup.

    Back up a database

  3. In the Backup database dialog, click Backup.

After the backup is created, you can view the backup you created by clicking View all backups for the database. Note that there is a delay.

Downloading, restoring, or deleting backups

  1. Go to the Databases page at Cloud > Databases and locate the environment and the database you want.

  2. Click View all backups for the database. On-demand backups are labeled User, while automatic backups are labeled Daily.

    View all backups

  3. To download a database backup, select Download from the menu.

    Download a database backup

  4. To restore a database backup, select Restore from the menu.
  5. To delete a database backup, select Delete from the menu.

Deleting multiple backups

You can delete more than one database backup at a time from the Cloud > Backups page.

  1. On the Backups page, select one or more of the backups you want to delete, or select all of them by selecting the check box in the table header.
  2. Click Delete backups.

Deleting backups

Downloading backups from the command line

You can also download any of your database backups using either the command line or an SFTP application. The database backups are stored in the /backups directory for each of your environments.

  • Dev environment — /mnt/files/[sitename].dev/backups
  • Stage environment — /mnt/files/[sitename].test/backups
  • Prod environment — /mnt/files/[sitename].prod/backups

For more information, see Downloading database backups from the command line.

Code backups

Your code is maintained in a version control repository managed by Acquia. Each time you commit code, a new tag is created in the version control system. You can revert to an earlier tag at any time in any of your Dev, Stage, or Prod environments.

Files backups

Your uploaded files are kept separate from your Drupal codebase and database, using a symbolic link to your website's /files directory. The Git and SVN version control systems can manage text files full of code, but are less well suited for managing large collections of user-uploaded objects, such as images, videos, or file attachments.

Acquia Cloud makes internal disaster recovery snapshots of your files, but these are not available for customers for normal backup purposes. If you want to back up your uploaded files, you can either do so manually from the command line or create a cron task to make backups on a regular schedule.

For more information, see About files and Backing up your Drupal file system.

Full site back ups

You can back up your whole site on an environment from the command line, using Drush. The drush archive-dump command creates a complete archive file of your site. For example, to back up the Prod environment of a site named example1:

drush @example1.prod archive-dump

By default, the backup file is saved to the drush-backups folder. Use the --destination option to specify the full path and filename in which the archive should be stored.

For more information, read About Drush on Acquia Cloud and the Drush Commands reference.

Related topics