Understanding the Drupal Commons features

What makes Drupal Commons more than just another Drupal distribution is its collection of features that provide added social collaboration.

Drupal Commons includes the following features:

Feature Description

Acquia subscription

This feature allows you to start your free 30-day trial of an Acquia subscription, or to enter the keys for your existing Acquia subscription. An Acquia subscription provides additional services to Drupal Commons, including enhanced site search and spam protection.

If you disable this feature, you cannot utilize the services provided by an Acquia subscription with your Drupal Commons server.

Commons Admin (Admin assist on installation web page)

This feature bundles a variety of administrative interface tools in one place.

If you disable this feature, the bundled administrative interface tools are not available for you to use.

Commons Activity Streams

This feature provides status updates and activity streams on user profiles and in groups.

If you disable this feature, your users do not see status updates.

Commons Blog (Blogs on installation web page)

This feature enables users to create single-post blog entries in groups.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot create new blog entries in the groups on your Drupal Commons server.

Commons Core

This feature includes the main components of Drupal Commons.

You cannot disable this feature.

Commons Dashboard

This feature provides a unique user-customizable dashboard of recent relevant website activity per user. It is included for legacy purposes, and its functionality has been incorporated into other features as of the Drupal Commons 2.0 release.

This feature is disabled by default.

Commons Discussion (Discussions on installation web page)

This feature enables users to create discussions in groups.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot create new discussions in the groups on your Drupal Commons server.

Commons Document (Documents on installation web page)

This feature enables users to upload document files to groups. File types include certain image formats, Microsoft Office files, OpenOffice files, and compressed files.

If you disable this feature, your users can upload only supported image files to groups.

Commons Event (Events & calendars on installation web page)

This feature enables users to create event calendars in groups.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot create new events in the groups on your Drupal Commons server.

Commons Group Aggregator (Content aggregator on installation web page)

This feature enables users to add RSS feeds to groups.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot add RSS feeds to groups, and the group navigation bars do not have the Feeds tab.

Commons Home (Home page on installation web page)

This feature provides a community-driven home page.

If you disable this feature, the Home page is not available for your users, and is not visible on the main navigation menu.

Commons Invite (Community invitations on installation web page)

This feature enables users to invite other users to join the website.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot invite other users to the website, and the Invite a friend block doesn't appear on users' profile pages.

Commons Notifications

This feature enables email notifications for site activity in areas that users have specifically requested updates.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot subscribe for updates on specific site activity.

Commons Poll (Polls on installation web page)

This feature enables users to create polls in groups.

If you disable this feature, your users cannot create polls in groups on your Drupal Commons server.

Commons Profile (Social profiles on installation web page)

This feature displays a Drupal Commons social profile for your users.

If you disable this feature, you only see the default user profile. The default user profile does not include the following attributes:

  • Recent activity

  • About

  • My groups block (available under Groups > History)

  • Edit my profile link (available from Edit tab)

Commons Reputation (User awards on installation web page)

A reputation system for Drupal Commons that awards points and badges for community involvement.

If you disable this feature, Drupal Commons displays the following behavior:

  • User profiles do not display points or badges that users have earned

  • Users do not earn points for activities that would have previously earned them points.

  • The Administer > Points menu is still accessible, and allows you to manage the points users earned up until Commons Reputation was disabled.

Commons SEO

This feature bundles all SEO-oriented capabilities in a module separate from Commons Core for ease of administration.

If you disable this feature, the SEO-oriented capabilities can only be modified through the default methods.

Commons Subgroups

This feature enables groups to be organized into a hierarchy, with groups contained in other groups.

If you disable this feature, you cannot configure a group to contain another group, the existing group hierarchy is displayed as a single level, and content and members are not propagated to other groups.

Note: If you previously configured a group hierarchy, the hierarchy is maintained, but not used or displayed. If you re-enable Subgroups, Drupal Commons displays the previously defined group hierarchy.

Commons Wiki (Wikis on installation web page)

This feature enables your users to create wiki pages in groups.

If you disable this feature, you cannot create wiki page content in the groups on your Drupal Commons server.