Upgrading Drupal Commons

To upgrade your server's Drupal Commons installation from one 3.x version to another 3.x version of Drupal Commons, you need to prepare for the upgrade, install the new version of Drupal Commons, and then inspect your server after the upgrade.

Preparing for the upgrade

  1. Download Drupal Commons from the Acquia Downloads page.
  2. Back up your website's code (everything in the Drupal root directory) and database.
  3. Open a web browser, and then sign in to your website as the main administrator account.
  4. If you're upgrading to Drupal Commons 3.9, disable and then uninstall the Advanced queue module.
  5. Place your website in "Off-line" mode. This allows the upgrade process to update databases without interruption and to prevent site visitors from seeing error messages. To change the mode:
    1. In the admin menu, click Configuration, and then click the Maintenance mode link.
    2. Select the Put site into maintenance mode check box, and then modify the Maintenance mode message that you want to display to your website's visitors during maintenance.
    3. Click Save configuration.

Installing the upgrade

  1. In your Drupal Commons document root (docroot) folder, examine the following files for any changes that you've made:
    • .htaccess
    • robots.txt
    • .gitignore

    Save the files or note your changes, because you will have to reapply any changes after you upgrade Drupal Commons.

  2. Except for the sites folder and its subfolders (and the .git folder if you're using version control — including Git or SVN), delete all files and subfolders from your Drupal Commons docroot.
  3. Create a temporary folder outside of your docroot, and then extract all of the Drupal Commons files from the installation archive into the temporary folder.
  4. In the temporary folder, delete the sites folder and its subfolders.
  5. Copy the contents of the temporary folder into your Drupal Commons docroot.
  6. In your web browser, open http://[site_url]/update.php, where [site_url] is the URL of your Drupal Commons server.
  7. Reapply any changes you made to the .htaccess, robots.txt, and .gitignore files before the upgrade.

Inspecting your server after the upgrade

  1. Revert your modules to their default state by running the following Drush command:

    drush features-revert-all

    You can also examine and revert your modules using the user interface. To do this:

    1. In the admin menu, go to Structure > Features (http://[site_URL]/admin/structure/features).
    2. Find a feature not in a default state, and then click its Overridden link.
    3. Select the check boxes for each overridden component in the feature.
    4. Click Revert components.
    5. Click the Features breadcrumb link to return to Structure > Features.
    6. Continue reverting features and their components until all features are listed with a state of Default.
  2. The upgrade process does not enable new Drupal Commons features. Examine the new features added to the Structure > Features page (http://[site_URL]/admin/structure/features) and enable the features that you'd like to use.
  3. If you're upgrading to Drupal Commons 3.3 or higher from Drupal Commons 3.2 or lower, you'll need to assign privacy settings to your existing groups. Until you've completed these group privacy assignments, your server isn't completely upgraded to the newer version of Drupal Commons. To update your existing groups' privacy settings:
    1. In the administrator notification message displayed after you sign in to your upgraded server, click the needs to be updated link.
    2. Each of the groups listed on the Commons Group Moderation page requires a group privacy setting. Click the edit link for one of the groups in the list.
    3. In the Privacy settings section, select the privacy option you want to use for the group, and then click Save.
    4. Repeat this process until the Commons Group Moderation page doesn't display any groups.
    5. After you've updated all of your existing groups, click the Remove group update message link.
  4. If you're upgrading to Drupal Commons 3.3 and you want to use the trusted contacts feature, be sure that the feature is enabled, and then open http://[site_url]/admin/people/trusted-contacts-upgrade to finish enabling this feature.
  5. If you're upgrading to Drupal Commons 3.5 or higher from Drupal Commons 3.4 or lower and your server environment uses Apache (including Acquia Cloud), you must modify your files directories' .htaccess files to resolve a security vulnerability. For information about how to modify your .htaccess files, see Modifying .htaccess for Security announcement SA-CORE-2013-003.
  6. If you're upgrading to Drupal Commons 3.6 through 3.9 and you want to use the BETA Media integration feature, you must enable the Commons Media module at Menu > Modules.
  7. Restore website access for your site visitors. To do this:
    1. In the admin menu, click Configuration, and then click the Maintenance mode link.
    2. Clear the Put site into maintenance mode check box.
    3. Click Save configuration.

Your website now uses the updated 3.x version of Drupal Commons to serve webpages and content to your site visitors.

Sign in to vote or comment