Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS   SUPPORT

Editing Dynamic Templates

Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates are an add-on feature for Acquia DAM Classic. Contact your Account Manager to add Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates to your subscription.

Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates allow users to edit Adobe InDesign® files within Acquia DAM Classic without the need for Adobe InDesign® software.

With Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates, you can make parts of your marketing materials customizable while keeping other parts static, so colleagues and partners can personalize presentations, business cards, catalogs, brochures and countless other materials without risking brand consistency. No training or design skills are necessary. Consider the following example use cases:

  • A salesperson needs to customize a data sheet with their contact information.
  • A travel agency wants to update the pricing, images and dates of a flyer.
  • A marketing manager in Italy wants to update the language of a brochure to Italian.

Refer to Dynamic Templates for information on installation and setup of the Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates extension.

  • Users with the Admin role can preview the changes made to a downloaded dynamic template, including the format it was downloaded in, in the Download Tracker Report.
  • Versions of a dynamic template expire after one year of inactivity.
  • Any storage space used by Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates does not count against your storage allocation.

Using a dynamic template

Users with download permission to a folder containing Acquia DAM Classic Dynamic Templates have the ability to edit and download the templates.

  1. Sign in to Acquia DAM.
  2. Click a dynamic template asset to open the Asset Details modal dialog box, and then click Edit template on the actions toolbar.
  3. In the Edit Template modal dialog box, an Edit icon Edit will display when you hover your mouse over a section that you have permission to update.
  4. Edit image:
    • To replace an image, click Edit Edit and then select Change Image. You can choose to upload an asset from your computer or choose from a predefined set of assets that have been related to the template.
    • Click Select.
    • Click and hold the image to move it within the frame.
    • Click the red circles at the corner of the image to adjust the size of the image.
    • Click Done.
  5. Edit text:
    • Enter the edits in the text area field.
    • Click outside the field to save your changes.
  6. Once complete, click Finished at the top of the template editor.
  7. Choose a file format from the dropdown box and click Save.

Saving a version

You can save a version of a template to revise and download later. A saved version is helpful if you need to save your work to finish later or realize that you made a mistake in the template.

  1. Sign in to Acquia DAM.
  2. Click a dynamic template asset to open the Asset Details modal dialog box, and then click Edit template on the actions toolbar.
  3. Edit the template.
  4. Once complete, click Finished at the top of the template editor.
  5. In the Download options dialog, select Save my work.
  6. Click Save.
  7. You can optionally update the version name.
  8. Click Save.

Note

Only the user saving the dynamic template will be able to view their saved versions.

Editing or deleting a version

If you have created and saved a version of a dynamic template, you can make additional changes to it or delete it. To edit a dynamic template or to delete a version of a dynamic template, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to Acquia DAM.
  2. Click a dynamic template asset to open the Asset Details modal dialog box.
  3. Click Versions. The Versions section only appears if there is at least one saved version.
    • Acquia DAM Classic - Versions will display under Related Assets in the Asset Details modal dialog box.
    • Brand Connect - Versions will display next to the asset details or comments in the Asset Details modal dialog box.
  4. Click the pencil icon Pencil next to the version you want to edit. The Edit Template Version modal dialog with your changes will appear. Make any additional edits and download the template.
  5. Click the trashcan icon Trashcan to delete the version.