Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Creating and managing versions

This feature requires that you have the Admin role for your project.

Acquia Journey includes project version control allowing snapshots to be created at any time. The snapshot includes journeys, graphs, metrics, and connections.

Accessing a project’s versions

To review or change your project’s versions, complete the following actions:

  1. Sign in to Acquia Journey.
  2. Go to the Admin page, and then click Projects in the left menu.
  3. Find your project in the project list, and then click its project name.
  4. In the project’s detail view, click Versions.

Creating a new version

To create a new version, complete the following actions:

  1. Sign in to Acquia Journey.

  2. From the project’s versions detail view, click Publish New Version.

  3. In the Name field, enter a description for the version.

    Note

    Acquia Journey prepends a tag to your saved version name, of the form vX (where X is an integer starting at 1).

  4. Click Save.

A locked snapshot of the project is created and displayed in the versions detail view.

Note

You cannot delete previously created versions.

Selecting the current version

The current version viewed in the editor windows is also used for deployed graphs. The current version can be any of the published versions in the list or it can be the current unlocked version.

To change the current version, complete the following actions:

  1. Sign in to Acquia Journey.
  2. From the version list, select the version you want to switch to, and click the checkmark icon.
  3. When you select a version, the Active Version will update to display the version number, and the version’s name will display a locked padlock.

Deployed graphs and graphs displayed in the editor will now include this locked version. The page will be disabled, preventing further editing of the graph. The locked padlock will display at the top of the page, along with the version description.

You can view a different version by clicking on the list and selecting the version from the list. To resume editing, select the version you want to switch to from the list, and then click its checkmark icon. The Active Version will change to Current and will display an unlocked padlock.

Restore and archive

It’s possible to revert to an earlier version and make that version the current version. If you want to save any changes you have before restoring an old version, you must first publish a new version before restoring an earlier one.

When you restore a version, it will archive any future versions ahead of the version that you are restoring. This allows you to return to the original version stream later, if this is a temporary change. For example, if you have three versions, restoring v2 archives v3 under v2. To return to the latest version, click Restore Archive for the v3 version.

Restored archives will reapply all versions in that archive. For nested archives, Acquia Journey will restore only the top level of archives, but will open the next level to be restored, if needed.