Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Configuring the Acquia Content Hub client

Installing Content Hub

After you have installed the Content Hub client modules, configure the module, user permissions to administer and use the service, and then use the Drupal admin interface to configure them to connect your website to the Content Hub repository.

Configuring Acquia Content Hub

The Content Hub modules must connect to the Content Hub service to publish from and subscribe to content.

  1. In the Drupal administration menu, click Configuration > Web services and then click the Acquia Content Hub link (http://[site_URL]/admin/config/services/acquia-contenthub).

  2. Use the following steps to obtain and enter the information you need for the Acquia Lift Credential section.

    1. Open a new browser tab.

    2. Sign in to Profile Manager using an account with administrative permissions.

    3. Click the Configure tab.

    4. Click the Customer Data link. If you are an Acquia Lift - Standard user, click Content Hub Admin User.

    5. Click the customer name with the Content Hub settings you want to inspect.

    6. In the Content Hub Module section, note the following values:

      • Acquia Content Hub Hostname
      • API Key
      • Secret Key
      • Client Name

      Notes

      • If you remove and reinstall Content Hub at any point, you can’t use the Client Name you used during any previous configuration process. When reinstalling, append a unique number to the prior Client Name. For example, if you used LIFTSITE2 before, enter LIFTSITE3.
      • The Drush command ach-connect (Drupal 8) will ask for the same inputs, allowing you to register a client using Drush instead of in the form.
  3. Return to your Drupal website, and then update the Content Hub configuration values based on the matching values from the Profile Manager interface.

  4. Click Save Configuration.

Repeat the steps for each new website or environment to register new clients with Content Hub.

Store these configuration values as a configuration split, or set them in the settings.php file. See the example files for suggestions.

Download and configure a per-environment settings file to ensure the data from your production environment is not corrupted by data from non-production environments.

Note

API and secret keys set in the production environment, or in Content replacement mode mode, match the API and secret keys stored in non-production environments.

Your website is now connected to the Content Hub content repository, and can begin to share content with your other connected websites.

For examples using more than one website for publication and syndication, see Registering multiple Acquia Content Hub clients.

Upgrading Content Hub

You can use the following commands to update Content Hub:

drush upc drupal
composer require drupal/acquia_contenthub:~1.0
drush cr

Configuring user permissions

To manage Content Hub settings (including the values on the Connections controlling your Content Hub assignment), signed-in users must have the appropriate permissions. To set the access permissions for Content Hub, complete the following steps:

  1. In the admin menu, go to People, and then click the Permissions tab.

  2. Assign the appropriate permissions to your website’s roles from the following list:

    • Content Hub: Administer content hub
    • Acquia Content Hub Connector: Administer content hub connector

    By default, all users with the Administrator role have these permissions.

  3. Click Save permissions to save your permission changes.

Configuring content sharing (publishing)

Next, see Sharing content to learn how to use the Entity Configuration and Settings tabs to configure how you share or publish content from your website to Content Hub, where the content is discoverable by other members of your content network.

Learning Services logo For a step-by-step video tutorial introducing you to personalization with Acquia Lift, including configuring content sharing, see Creating Personalized Experiences with Acquia Lift.

Disconnecting from Content Hub

Administrators can disconnect a website from Content Hub. You can reconnect the website at a later time. Any content already published to the hub from the website you are disconnecting will remain on the hub, but it becomes orphaned. Reconnecting your website to the hub will not reconnect the copy of the content on the hub to its original source.

Depending on your installed version of Drupal, use the one of the following methods to disconnect your website from Content Hub: