Getting started with personalizations

Configuring Acquia Lift Drupal

Acquia Lift lets you both track the behavior of your website's visitors and customize your content to match their interests. You can then test your visitors' reactions to this customized content to ensure that your marketing strategy is working. For more information on how tests work, see Planning your A/B testing.

You start this process by creating a personalization, which is a set of customized content targeted toward a particular audience, designed to prompt the defined audience to take specific actions on your website. Acquia Lift uses a set of tabs, including What, Why, Who, and When, to guide you through the process of creating personalizations.

After you have named your personalization, Acquia Lift Drupal displays a list that allows you to save, resume, complete, or pause the personalization.

Creating a personalization

To create a new personalization, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to your website as an administrative user with content personalization management rights.
  2. In the admin menu, click Acquia Lift to display the Acquia Lift menu bar.
  3. In the Acquia Lift menu bar, click Personalizations, and then click Add personalization.
  4. In the Create personalization field, enter a name for the personalization (for example, Revised title test).
  5. Click Create and edit.

Your new personalization is now ready for configuration, and Acquia Lift displays the What tab for the personalization. The next step is to add the customized content that will be displayed to audiences.

Editing your personalizations

If you need to edit a personalization that you have already created, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to your website as an Acquia Lift Drupal user with content personalization management rights.
  2. In the admin menu, click Acquia Lift to display the Acquia Lift menu bar.
  3. In the Acquia Lift menu bar, click Edit next to the name of your personalization.

Editing a running personalization

All of your website's personalizations are listed in the Acquia Lift menu bar. Personalizations that are running, however, cannot be edited unless they are first paused.

To edit a personalization that is running, in the Acquia Lift menu bar, click Edit next to the name of the personalization, and then click Pause to pause the personalization.

Personalizations that are paused display the default variations to visitors. If you want to restart the personalization, be sure to click its Resume button after you save your changes.

Changing the status of a personalization

To change the status of your personalization from any tab, click the menu to the right of the webpage (under the personalization's status).

what-tab-personalization-list.png

The options that are visible depend on the status of your personalization. For example, if you do not have any currently running personalizations and if you have completed one or more tests, then the Draft, Paused, and Completed options are visible:

  • Paused
    • Save - Preserve any changes you have made to your personalization
    • Resume - Restart a paused personalization
    • Complete - End your personalization
  • Running
    • Pause - Halt this personalization
  • Draft
    • Save - Preserve any changes you have made to your personalization
    • Start - Begin your personalization
  • Complete
    • Unarchive - Restores the personalization to a Paused status, allowing it to be edited

Next: Creating variations on the What tab >

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support