Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Upgrading from Lift 3 to Lift 4

Upgrading from Acquia Lift 3 to Acquia Lift 4 is a one-time process handled from the central application screen.

Important

You can not migrate your Acquia Lift 4 account back to Acquia Lift 3 after you have started the account upgrade process.

During the migration process, slots and rules are migrated to the updated format. You can choose which slots and rules to migrate:

  • Everything in your account
  • Everything for a specific website
  • Individual slots and rules
For a video tutorial including step-by-step instructions for upgrading from Acquia Lift 3 to Acquia Lift 4, see Acquia Lift Version 4 Getting Started.

Switching to Acquia Lift 4

To migrate your account to use Acquia Lift 4, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to Profile Manager.
  2. Navigate to Configure > Customer sites.
  3. In the Customer Site Detail section, ensure a value is entered for the URL field for each Site ID. Ensure the URL field is filled out in Customer site details
  4. Go to Customer Data, and then click your Account ID.
  5. Make note of the value for Decision API URL. If you do not have this value, contact Acquia Support.
  6. Contact Acquia Support to request to switch to Acquia Lift 4. Support will activate the new version.
  7. Sign in to your Drupal website, and then navigate to Configure > Acquia Lift.
  8. In the Acquia Lift Credential section:
    • Change the Assets URL value to: builder.lift.acquia.com.
    • Set the Decision API URL field to the value you copied.
  9. Click Save.

Confirming your website is running Acquia Lift 4

After the saving Assets URL, you can confirm your website is running Acquia Lift 4 by navigating to any front-page of your website. With your browser tools open, look for a /decide network request. If you see /decide and not /decide-js, your website has switched to Acquia Lift 4.

Decide shows in the browser tools instead of decide.js

When your website is using Acquia Lift 4, you can start to create campaigns.

Migrating the content

Migrate some or all your content using the following procedure:

  1. Review your existing websites to ensure your rules have unique names. If there are duplicate names when the migration begins, duplicated rules do not migrate.

    If there are duplicated rule names during migration, Acquia Lift will display an error message including a list of the rules which failed to migrate.

  2. In the Profile Manager, click Migrate. The Migrate: Select Migration Type dialog box displays.

  3. Select a migration type:

    • Entire account
    • Specific site(s)
    • Specific rule(s)
  4. Click Next.

  5. Follow the appropriate instructions for your migration type:

    The Migrate: Entire Account dialog box displays. To migrate your account, click Migrate.

    The Migrate: Specific site(s) screen displays.

    1. Use the filter and select a check box to choose a specific website.

    2. Click Next.

    3. Select the check box for one or more rules and slots to migrate. Alternately, you may select All, Published, or None.

      Note

      When selecting Specific rule(s) to migrate, archived rules do not display.

    4. Click Migrate.

    5. A confirmation dialog box displays. Click Confirm migration.

    Note

    If you have selected a website and some rules and then change the website, all rules will be cleared. This prevents accidental migration of rules.

The Migrate: Pending dialog box displays. When migration is complete, the Migrate: Success dialog box displays. If the migration fails, the Migrate: Failure dialog box displays. Contact Acquia Support for help.

Note

You can’t close the migration dialog box by either pressing Esc or clicking Back in your browser. This behavior prevents unintentional closing which could cause potential migration problems.

The preceding steps complete the migration process. You are now ready to add new rules, or create campaigns on your Acquia Lift-enabled website.

You may return to the Acquia Lift dashboard at any time to perform other migrations, or click the link in the migration dialog box.