Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Permissions definition

For more information about Drupal terms and terminology, see the Acquia Help Center Drupal term index.

Your Drupal website’s permissions allow you to control what users can accomplish on your website. Many of the different functions and features available on your website have a permission that you can either enable or disable.

Permissions control access to administrative tasks (such as the ability to access the administrative menu) and general website usage (such as viewing published content).

To view the list of user permissions for your Drupal 7 website, go to People > Permissions, and then click Permissions.

Drupal_permissions_one

Drupal includes a set of core access permissions, and many modules can also add permissions to this page when they are enabled.

To assign permissions to user roles, select their check boxes in the appropriate roles’ columns.

You can modify the permissions of a single role by clicking its edit permissions on the Roles page. The link leads to a page where only that role is displayed.

Important

  • Many of the permission settings have serious security implications. Examine each permission carefully and provide sensitive and security-relevant permissions only to users that you trust. It’s sensible to make a set of permissions that is as restrictive as possible, yet one that still allows your website to function as you intend.

  • Permissions are cumulative. Users assigned multiple roles will have all of the permissions included in any of their roles. For example, all signed-in users have all permissions assigned to the Authenticated user role. Permissions define what users are permitted to do—not what they are forbidden to do.

    Drupal_permissions_two

Note

Drupal’s permissions and roles are not the same as Acquia’s Teams and permissions.