Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Role definition

For more information about Drupal terms and terminology, see the Acquia Help Center Drupal term index.

A role is a collection of associated permissions relating to either a website function or a level of website access, which you can then assign to user accounts.

For example, assigning an account to the Administrator role provides permissions which include complete access to the website. Assigning an account to the Anonymous role, however, provides a user with limited access to the website.

To manage user roles on your Drupal website, go to People > Permissions, and then click Roles.

Drupal_permissions_one

By default, basic Drupal websites (without any additional changes made by a distribution) include three standard roles:

  • Anonymous - Site visitors not signed in to your website.
  • Authenticated - Signed-in site visitors who are registered users on your website.
  • Administrator - Signed-in administrative “super-users” of your website. This role is assigned every permission for every module that is enabled. Administrators have full access to all available functionality on your website. You should assign this role only to users whom you trust.

Note

Drupal’s permissions and roles are not the same as Acquia’s Teams and permissions.