Information for: DEVELOPERS   PARTNERS

Managing Site Factory accounts

The information on this page describes how to manage accounts on Site Factory. If you want to remove your account from an Acquia subscription or acquia.com, contact Acquia Support and request that they delete your account.

Regardless of who you are or what permissions you require, Site Factory uses a centralized, OpenID-based system to manage user accounts. For example, administrators can use this centralized account registry to access the Factory interface for managing websites, while site visitors can use the registry to view content on an Site Factory-hosted website.

Both the Site Factory Management Console and all of the websites that it manages use the same OpenID accounts, so you can use an account created on one Site Factory website to sign in to your other Site Factory websites and even to the Site Factory Management Console itself (assuming that you’ve been assigned a Site Factory Management Console administrative role).

You can view and manage your Site Factory accounts at either the Site Factory Management Console level or in each individual website.

Learn more by visiting the Acquia Academy (sign-in required) for the Setting Up Site Factory video tutorial.

Editing your user profile

Site Factory stores the information you provide about yourself (such as your name, email address, and user avatar) in your user profile.

To edit your user profile:

  1. Sign in to the Site Factory Management Console.

  2. In the Site Factory admin menu, click the [username] link, where [username] is your account name.

  3. Click the Edit tab.

    Edit profile

  4. Click Save after you complete your changes to your user profile.

Creating new users in the Site Factory Management Console

To create a new user, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to the Site Factory Management Console for your production environment as a user with the platform admin role.

    Important

    Creating users on your non-production environment, instead of your production environment, can cause data synchronization mismatches when syncing users to your non-production environment as part of the website staging process.

  2. In the Site Factory admin menu, click the Users link.

  3. Click Create a new user.

  4. In the Username field, enter the new user’s username.

  5. In the Email address field, enter the user’s email address.

  6. In the Password field, enter a password for the user which meets the Site Factory password strength requirements, and then re-enter the same password in the Confirm password field.

  7. In the Status field, select whether the user should be blocked or active.

  8. Select the check box next to each of the Roles you want to assign to this user. For more information about permissions assigned to each role, see Site Factory Management Console roles.

  9. Select the Notify check box to send an email notification to the user about their new account. If you don’t select this check box, no notification is sent.

  10. Optional Select the check box for any site groups you want to add this user to. For more information, see Managing site group users.

  11. Click Create new account.

Site Factory will create your new user and, if Notify was selected, notify the user of the new account. User creation is logged in the audit log.

Managing existing users in the Site Factory Management Console

After you sign in to the Site Factory Management Console, you can view all accounts by clicking Users in the admin menu.

Users page overview

You can use the options on this page to complete user management tasks, including creating new accounts or editing existing accounts to add Site Factory roles that provide Site Factory administrator access. These tasks are logged in the audit log.

For more information about the different types of Site Factory administrative access, see Site Factory Management Console roles.

Managing users on Site Factory-hosted websites

Like any other Drupal website, Site Factory-hosted websites provide you with many different user management actions (including adding new users, removing user accounts, and controlling access to different parts of the website) and are controlled separately in each of your Site Factory-hosted websites. User management in the Site Factory Management Console is your responsibility.

Site owners

Each Site Factory-hosted website has a single user who is the site owner. Website ownership can be restricted to individuals with the platform admin role.

If you want to delete the user account of a website’s site owner, first transfer ownership of the website to a different user. Failing to do this will cause the website to have no site owner, and only the site owner can transfer ownership or delete a website.