Although websites on Acquia Cloud cannot be deleted by users, it is possible to remove the website's data and start over from scratch. Use the information on this page to help you find the resources you can use to reset a previously created and developed website.
Removing your local Acquia Dev Desktop site
Some users may develop their websites using Acquia Dev Desktop. If you no longer need to keep your data locally, you can delete the local site.
If you delete a website in Acquia Dev Desktop that is hosted on Acquia Cloud, this process will delete only the local version of the website, and does not affect the website on Acquia Cloud.
Resetting the Git repository
For an explanation of how to delete the Git repository for a website and remove all of its the code and history, see Reset a Git repository on Acquia Cloud.
Deleting files and databases
After you determine that you no longer require your website's files, you can rsync the files to another location before deleting them from the directories, if needed. After you have copies of any required files from your website, you can delete the website files if you do not plan to use them again.
For instructions about how to delete a database, see Deleting a database.