Backing up your application

An Acquia Cloud application has three principal parts: code, database, and files. Although each of these parts has a separate backup strategy, you can also back up your entire application:

Database backups

Daily backups from the last three days are always available to you. You can make additional backups at any time, for example, for critical stages of development. You should also periodically check to make sure that backups are being successfully completed and test your ability to restore websites from a backup copy.

  • Automatic backups

    Acquia Cloud makes daily backups of all databases in all environments and keeps them for three days. These backups are listed as Daily in the Acquia Cloud interface Databases page. These daily backups are required and cannot be disabled.

  • On-demand backups

    You can make on-demand backups of any database at any time in the Acquia Cloud interface, either on the Applications > Environments page, the Applications > [Environment] > Overview page, or on the Databases page. These backups are listed as User backups in the Acquia Cloud interface Databases page. Acquia Cloud keeps your on-demand backups until you delete them. Your backup copies count against the storage space of your account.

Acquia Cloud takes internal disaster recovery snapshots of all data every hour and retains them on a diminishing schedule for three months:

  • The most recent three backups are generally one, two, and three hours old.
  • One backup per day, taken as soon after midnight as possible, is kept for seven days.
  • One backup per week, taken as soon after midnight Sunday as possible, is kept for four weeks.
  • One backup per month, taken as soon after the first of the month as possible, is kept for three months.

In the unlikely event of a total data center loss or the loss of multiple disk systems, Acquia Cloud would use these backups to restore your applications to another location. Acquia Cloud does not provide customer access to these backups and will not use these snapshots to restore applications due to data loss or deletion by customers.

Creating a manual, on-demand database backup

You can make on-demand backups of any database at any time in the Acquia Cloud interface on any of these pages:

Making a database backup on the Applications > Environments page

  1. In the Acquia Cloud interface, select your application.
  2. On the card for the environment that you want to back up, click the backup button.

    Backing up a database from the Environments page

    Acquia Cloud displays a listing of the databases in the environment.

  3. Select the database or databases that you want to back up, or click All to select all of the databases. Then, click Continue.
  4. In the confirmation dialog, click Back up.

Making a database backup on an environment's Overview page

  1. In the Acquia Cloud interface, select your application and environment.

    Backing up from the Overview page

  2. In the Databases card, click Back up. Acquia Cloud displays a listing of the databases in the environment.
  3. Select the database or databases that you want to back up, or click All to select all of the databases. Then, click Continue.
  4. In the confirmation dialog, click Back up.

Making a database backup on the Databases page

  1. In the Acquia Cloud interface, select your application and environment, and then open the Databases page.
  2. Find the database you want to back up, and then click its Back up link.

    Back up a database

  3. In the Back up a database dialog box, click Back up.

After the backup is created, which may take a few minutes, you can view the backup that you created by clicking View all backups for the database.

Downloading, restoring, or deleting backups

On the Databases page of the Acquia Cloud interface, you can download, restore, or delete (remove) backups.

  1. On the Databases page, locate the database you want to act upon.
  2. Click View all backups for the database.

    On-demand backups are labeled User, while automatic backups are labeled Daily.

    • To download a database backup, click Download.
    • To restore a database backup, click Restore.
    • To delete a database backup, select Remove.

Downloading backups from the command line

You can also download any of your database backups using either the command line or an SFTP application. The database backups are stored in the /backups directory for each of your environments.

  • Development environment - /mnt/files/[sitename].dev/backups
  • Staging environment - /mnt/files/[sitename].test/backups
  • Production environment - /mnt/files/[sitename].prod/backups

For more information, see Downloading database backups from the command line.

Code backups

Your code is maintained in a version control repository managed by Acquia. Each time you commit code, a new tag is created in the version control system. You can revert to an earlier tag at any time in any of your environments.

File backups

Your uploaded files are kept separate from your Drupal codebase and database, using a symbolic link to your application's /files directory. The Git and SVN version control systems can manage text files full of code, but are less well suited for managing large collections of user-uploaded objects, such as images, videos, or file attachments.

Acquia Cloud makes internal disaster recovery snapshots of your files, but these are not available for customers for normal backup purposes. If you want to back up your uploaded files, you can either do so manually from the command line or create a cron task to make backups on a regular schedule.

For more information, see Working with files and Backing up your Drupal file system.

Full application backups

You can back up your whole application on an environment from the command line, using Drush. The drush archive-dump command creates a complete archive file of your application. For example, to back up the Prod environment of an application named example1:

drush @example1.prod archive-dump

By default, the backup file is saved to the drush-backups folder. Use the --destination option to specify the full path and filename in which the archive should be stored.

For more information, see About Drush on Acquia Cloud and the Drush Commands reference.

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Contact supportStill need assistance? Contact Acquia Support